The National Youth Wind Ensemble of Great Britain (NYWE)
“Those who know the National Youth Wind Ensemble will have long since realised that under this banner the word ‘youth’ cannot be used disparagingly: in fact it suggests that the members each have a long and illustrious career in front of them.  The standard, as exemplified on this CD, can be regarded as uncompromisingly professional.”
Martin Kier Glover:  Review in the April 2014 issue of the quarterly journal Tempo, on NYWE’s CD “Wind Music of Philip Grange”.

“The performance [of ‘Cloud Atlas’] demonstrates consummate skill and musicianship from the players, who make this challenging work sound as easy to play as a Sousa march.”
Edwin Roxburgh:  Review in the Dec 2013 issue of WASBE World, on the “Wind Music of Philip Grange” CD.

“One of the finest wind ensembles in the world.”
Timothy Reynish: September 2007

“A performance of remarkable collective virtuosity and outstanding musicianship that augurs extremely well for the future careers of these talented young players.”
Paul Conway:  Review in the October 2009 issue of Tempo, on the world premiere performance of Cloud Atlas at the 2009 Cheltenham Music Festival

“A professionalism unique in the UK and I would guess anywhere.”
Timothy Reynish:  Review in the September 2007 issue of the WASBE Journal

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

The National Youth Wind Ensemble of Great Britain, conducted by Phillip Scott, is a one-player-per-part wind ensemble of about 40 players which has established an enviable international reputation since its foundation in 1998.  The group specialises in the performance of music which has appeared during the last thirty years, although music of earlier eras is also performed.

NYWE regularly commissions important composers, most recently Philip Grange, Joseph Phibbs, Chiu-Yu Chou, Jacques Cohen, Anthony Bailey and Michael Torke.  In July 2009, NYWE gave the world premiere of Philip Grange’s Cloud Atlas at the Cheltenham Music Festival, a major work which went on to win a 2010 British Composer Award.

  • August 2000:  Appearance at the BBC Proms Millennium Youth Day at the Royal Albert Hall, broadcast live on Radio 3.
  • July 2003:  Concert given for the 11th International WASBE Conference in Jönköping, Sweden, with percussion soloist Colin Currie.
  • July 2007:  Concert given for the 13th International WASBE Conference in Killarney, Ireland, with clarinet soloist Sarah Williamson.
  • July 2009:  Concert given for the 2009 Cheltenham Music Festival.
  • July 2011:  East Asia Tour – Taiwan, Hong Kong & Macau, including concerts given for the 15th International WASBE Conference in Chiayi City, Taiwan, and for the Macau Band Directors’ Association.  Huw Morgan: soloist in Richard Rodney Bennett’s Concerto for Trumpet and Wind Orchestra.
  • NYWE’s latest CD, “Wind Music of Philip Grange”, was released on the
    Prima Facie label in 2013.

Instrumentation: Flute/Piccolo; Oboe/Cor anglais; Clarinet (Bb, Eb, alto, bass, contrabass); Bassoon/Contrabassoon; Saxophone (soprano, alto, tenor, baritone); French horn; Trumpet/Cornet; Trombone; Bass trombone; Euphonium; Tuba; Percussion.

Standard Required: Grade 8/Diploma

Recent repertoire includes:

Symphonic Dances from “West Side Story” – Leonard Bernstein, arr. Lavender
Short Ride in a Fast Machine – John Adams, arr. Odom
Emblems – Aaron Copland
Dream Carousels – Anthony Gilbert
Omaggio – Michael Ball (performed live on BBC Radio 3)
Diaghilev Dances – Kenneth Hesketh
The Spiralling Night – Joseph Phibbs (NYWE commission, world premiere in Killarney, Ireland, 2007; shortlisted for the 2008 British Composer Awards)
Cloud Atlas – Philip Grange (NYWE commission, world premiere in Cheltenham, UK, 2009; winner of the Wind Band/Brass Band category in the 2010 British Composer Awards).
Dream Sun on the Sea – Chiu-Yu Chou (NYWE commission, premiere performances during the East Asia Tour, July 2011).
In Ictu Oculi (Three Meditations) for Wind Orchestra – Kenneth Hesketh (World Premiere)